Meaning of Ashtanga Yoga- The eight limbs of Yoga

User Rating 5 (4 votes)

The path of Ashtanga yoga  was propagated by Maharishi Patanjali, which teaches us how to live life in peace, harmony, fitness, awakening and social-well being. Let us discuss all the aspects of Ashtanga yoga.

Ashtanga yoga means; the eight parts or eight aspects of yoga. It is made of Sanskrit word, Ashta means eight, Anga means parts and yoga means yog!

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

How Ashtanga yoga is useful and for whom?

A person cannot become a Yogi without following these principles. It is not just for a yogi, but for anybody who wishes to be completely happy. Ashtang yog includes common practices of daily life, as well as higher stages of Adhyatma like Dhyan and Samadhi.

Ashtanga Yoga: Eight limbs of Yog:

  1. Yam
  2. Niyam
  3. Asana
  4. Pranayama
  5. Pratyahara
  6. Dharna
  7. Dhyan
  8. and Samadhi
Meanings of Ashtanga yoga

Meanings of Ashtanga yoga

Now let us discuss all these eight terms in description. Hope everyone will follow it, to make this world beautiful and happier.

1. Yam-

The first principle of Ashtang yog, says about resisting passions. It means driving your mind and thinking away from the physical prosperity of the word, which is name, fame, wealth and physical happiness.

2. Niyam-

It means ‘Scriptural rules’. It means excretion, contentment, penance, regular study of Vedas; all these keeps the devotion towards the God The devotee should be purified, tolerating challenges, away from violence and freed from all such pollutions of world.

3. Asana-

Asana means posture, devotees should practice to sit attentively and comfortably for long periods while worshiping and meditating. Sitting in padmasana, siddhasana or sukhasana are the comfortable poses.

4. Pranayama

The controlling of inhalation and exhalation, is called Pranayama. It should be done after completing Asanas. There has been described four types of pranayama; Bahyavritti pranayama, Abhyantarvritti pranayama, Stambhvritti pranayama and Bahyabhyantar-Vishaya kshepi.

5. Pratyahara-

The victory over the mind from deviating to all other subjects and focusing the senses and mind, inwards is known as Pratyahara. When one controls one’s mind through detachment and wisdom, the senses get controlled automatically.

6. Dharna-

Dharna is when you sit in one place and concentrate your mind, on any of the meditation point of the body. Thus the act of detaching your mind from the worldly objects and focusing on the subtle subjects or supreme soul is called Dharna.

7. Dhayan-

The meditation where you experience a tremendous rapport with God is called Dhayan. This the concentrated flow of superior knowledge, where one’s mind is completely calm and focused.

8. Samadhi-

A state when body presence goes down to nil and godly presence illuminates our body, this state is called Samadhi. One forgets everything else and experiences the divine form of God.

These are the 8 limbs or parts of Yog, which makes you feel the presence of almighty spirit, ultimately developing confidence in you.

Hope you like the post, share it to all and do share your experiences with us. Take care and live well!

She is a learner and health conscious person. She is always interested in seeking knowledge regarding Ayurveda, herbal medicine and Yoga to cure any health ailments naturally.

She holds a Bachelor Degree in Alternative Medicine and interested in Naturopathy.

One Response

  1. JASBIR SINGH July 18, 2016

What is your opinion?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Herbal Medicine Herbs Vegetables and Fruits
Brined Amla ,Amla
Brined Amla for Health: Loaded with Goodness, rich in taste!
Home Remedies for Sinusitis,Remedies for Sinusitis,Sinusitis,Sinusitis Treatment
11 Home Remedies for Sinusitis Treatment
herbal decoction
Homemade Herbal Decoction for Cough and Cold for all
Asanas Meditation Pranayam
Mahamrityunjai Mantra
MahaMrityunjai Mantra: A Spiritual healing for Health and Wellness
Kundalini Jagran
Awake the Treasure of Gems inside your body: Kundalini Jagran
5 simple Yoga Asanas for office
Desk Yoga – 5 Simple Desk Yoga Asanas to do in office
Beauty Tips Child Care Diet Tips Pregnancy Tips Weight Loss Tips
baby oil homemade
Homemade Baby oil for fair skin complexion
Dengue epidemic,dengue,prevention of dengue
Prevention of Dengue: Biggest epidemic in current date
pica disorder
Pica Disorder: Meaning, Symptoms, Causes and Treatment